How Many Qubits to Break Bitcoin ECDSA (secp256k1)?
Two 2026 secp256k1 circuit options require fewer than 1,200 or 1,450 logical qubits. They have different gate budgets. Physical-qubit counts depend on error correction, hardware and runtime: a September trapped-ion model uses 19,397 physical qubits over 25.7 days, while a superconducting model targets minutes with fewer than 500,000. These are resource estimates, not demonstrated attacks.
Rather have it explained? Watch or listen to our Gemini Notebook overview: How Many Qubits to Break Bitcoin? (Google sign-in required).
For the wider question, start with quantum computing and Bitcoin risk. This page owns the numerical comparison: the circuit, hardware and runtime assumptions that make a qubit estimate meaningful.
How many logical qubits are needed to break secp256k1?
Babbush and colleagues’ 2026 research gives two alternatives: fewer than 1,200 logical qubits with fewer than 90 million Toffoli gates, or fewer than 1,450 with fewer than 70 million. These are alternative circuits, not a universal minimum-to-maximum range. A smaller qubit budget can demand more gates.
The September trapped-ion preprint explores a different implementation scenario. Its smaller physical-qubit count comes with a much longer runtime. Compare the complete row rather than combining the smallest number from one study with the fastest runtime from another.
A third 2026 study, by a Caltech and Oratomic team including John Preskill, shows that Shor’s algorithm can run on as few as 10,000 reconfigurable neutral-atom qubits; with 26,000, discrete logarithms on a 256-bit curve take a few days. For the same comparison across RSA, AES and SHA-256, see how many qubits it takes to break RSA, AES and SHA-256.
| Study | Logical Qubits | Physical Qubits | Assumptions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Häner et al., September 2026 preprint | About 1,450 | 19,397 | Trapped-ion architecture; about 40 million Toffoli gates; 25.7 days; estimated success probability 63%. A modeled machine, not a hardware demonstration. |
| Babbush et al., March 2026; revised April | <1,200 or <1,450 | <500,000 | Two circuits: <90 million or <70 million Toffoli gates respectively. Superconducting model with 10−3 physical error rate and planar connectivity; runtime in minutes. |
| Luo et al., July 2026; revised September | 835 (3n + 6⌊log2 n⌋ + O(1) at n = 256) | Not estimated | Space-efficient point addition and modular inversion: the lowest published logical-qubit count for a 256-bit prime-field curve, paid for with far more Toffoli gates (leading term 1056n3/log2 n, about 2.2 billion at n = 256). No runtime or hardware estimate. |
| Cain et al. (Caltech, Oratomic), March 2026 | Not stated in the abstract | 26,000 (neutral atoms) | Reconfigurable neutral-atom architecture with high-rate error-correcting codes; discrete logarithms on the 256-bit P-256 curve in a few days; as few as 10,000 qubits at longer runtimes. A modeled machine, not a hardware demonstration. |
| Litinski, 2023 | Not stated in the abstract (50 million Toffoli gates per key) | About 6.9 million (6,000 modules of 1,152) | Silicon-photonics-inspired active-volume architecture with non-local connections, 10% threshold and 10-μs code cycle: one key every 10 minutes. With strict 2D-local connectivity, one key every 38 hours. |
| Webber et al., 2021 | Not stated in the abstract | About 13 million for one day; about 317 million for one hour | Surface code with a 1-μs code cycle, 10-μs reaction time and 10−3 physical error rate. |
| Roetteler et al., 2017 | 2,330 for n = 256 | No hardware count in this circuit bound | Historical prime-field ECDLP bound: 9n + 2⌈log₂ n⌉ + 10. The paper evaluates NIST curves; this is context for 256-bit ECC, not a secp256k1 hardware benchmark. |
Use this table: CSV · JSON · Permanent table link. Licensed CC BY 4.0; keep each row’s assumptions when you cite it.
The same estimates, explained in our Gemini Notebook overview, which answers questions from these studies (Google sign-in required).
Maintained as new estimates publish — the Updated date above reflects the last revision. Attribution:
Qubit estimates for breaking secp256k1 — SynergyX Research, https://synxcrypto.com/articles/123-how-many-qubits-to-break-bitcoin-secp256k1.php#estimates
What is the difference between logical and physical qubits?
A logical qubit is an encoded computational unit protected by error correction. It is not mathematically perfect: a resource estimate must keep logical failures sufficiently unlikely over the whole computation. Physical qubits are the hardware that supports those encoded states, error correction and other circuit operations.
There is no universal ratio between the two. Error rates, connectivity, code choice, gate speed and the resources used to prepare special states all affect the machine size and runtime. Multiplying a logical-qubit count by an arbitrary fixed number produces a weak comparison. Likewise, a vendor announcing thousands of physical qubits has not demonstrated thousands of useful logical qubits.
How does Shor’s algorithm threaten Bitcoin ECDSA and Schnorr signatures?
Bitcoin uses ECDSA and Taproot Schnorr signatures over secp256k1. Given a public point Q = kG, the elliptic-curve discrete-logarithm problem asks for the private scalar k. A sufficiently capable fault-tolerant quantum implementation of Shor’s algorithm could solve that problem and allow forged authorizations under the recovered key.
Polynomial-time complexity does not by itself mean a particular attack finishes in minutes. Runtime follows from the circuit and hardware assumptions. It also does not mean the attacker obtains all Bitcoin keys from one computation: the target key and the resources spent on recovering it remain part of the threat model.
Bitcoin mining asks a different question. Read Grover search versus Shor attacks for the distinction between finding proof-of-work hashes and recovering transaction-signing keys.
Where does the 2,330 logical qubits figure come from?
Roetteler et al. (2017) provide an upper bound of 9n + 2⌈log₂ n⌉ + 10 qubits for a prime-field elliptic-curve circuit. At n = 256, the expression gives 2,330. The paper evaluates NIST curves; the figure is useful historical context, not a complete secp256k1 hardware benchmark.
Newer secp256k1-specific circuits use fewer logical qubits under their stated constructions. That improvement does not invalidate the older mathematical bound. It means readers should state the curve, circuit, gate count and hardware model when quoting either result.
Which Bitcoin public keys are exposed to a future quantum attack?
Exposure depends on the output and its history. P2PK and Taproot key-path outputs expose public keys directly. Hash-based output forms can hide a key until spending, provided the relevant key or script has not already been revealed elsewhere. Address reuse, disclosed extended public keys and recovery arrangements can change that assessment.
The BIP 360 discussion distinguishes long exposure from short exposure. A long-exposed key gives an attacker time to work before its owner moves the funds. A short-exposure attack must compete with transaction confirmation. Ten minutes is Bitcoin’s target average block interval, not a guaranteed safe transaction window.
A copied public key does not mean coins were stolen. The attacker still needs a capable machine, relevant spending authority and funds that remain exposed. Historical dormant balances are not proof that every corresponding private key is lost. This page therefore does not convert an exposed-balance estimate into a claim of inevitable losses.
Can Bitcoin become quantum resistant?
There are published proposals. As checked on September 21, 2026, BIP 360 and BIP 361 are drafts. BIP 360 proposes P2MR outputs to address long exposure without itself introducing a post-quantum signature algorithm. BIP 361 discusses migration away from vulnerable signature paths and depends on a future post-quantum signature proposal. Neither draft proves network activation.
A migration requires agreement on rules, tested implementations, wallet and exchange support, and decisions about old outputs. Signature size and verification cost matter, but one SPHINCS+ parameter set is not a universal cost for every possible Bitcoin upgrade. The design space includes different schemes and transaction arrangements.
Read the BIP 360 and BIP 361 upgrade guide for the scope and unresolved dependencies. Resource estimates cannot establish when such a migration will happen or whether it will finish before an attack-capable machine exists.
When could a quantum computer break Bitcoin?
No cited resource estimate establishes a date. A machine must deliver the required logical qubits, operation count, error performance and runtime together. A vendor roadmap is an engineering target; a government migration deadline is a policy requirement. Neither is a demonstrated Bitcoin key-recovery capability.
The practical reason to plan early is that cryptographic changes and user migration take time. The useful milestones are validated circuits, measured logical operations at the necessary scale, production protocol support and completed wallet migration. Track those milestones separately from a predicted “Q-day.”
What should a wallet user check?
Start with the signature rules the network accepts. Key storage, transaction authentication and encrypted communications perform different jobs. NIST’s ML-KEM establishes shared secrets; ML-DSA and SLH-DSA are signature standards. Algorithm selection does not independently certify an entire wallet.
SynergyX specifies SPHINCS+-SHAKE-128s signatures and Kyber-768 key encapsulation for SYNX. Check the release, accepted transaction-verification path and recovery process. The signature versus key-exchange guide explains the roles; the coin comparison applies the same evidence questions to multiple networks.
From attack estimates to a wallet decision
Review SYNX wallet features, compare wallets by supported assets and recovery, then inspect official releases and checksums. SYNX is a separate asset and network; its wallet does not change Bitcoin’s existing signature rules. Our due-diligence checklist helps evaluate the complete path.
Frequently asked questions
- How many qubits are needed to break Bitcoin?
- Two 2026 secp256k1 circuit estimates require fewer than 1,200 or 1,450 logical qubits with different gate budgets. Physical resources and runtime depend on the hardware model; these are not demonstrated attacks.
- How many logical qubits are needed to break secp256k1?
- The two 2026 circuit alternatives use fewer than 1,200 logical qubits with fewer than 90 million Toffoli gates, or fewer than 1,450 with fewer than 70 million. Neither count alone specifies the complete machine.
- Where does the 2,330 logical qubits figure come from?
- It is the n = 256 value of a 2017 prime-field elliptic-curve circuit bound. The study evaluates NIST curves, so the number is historical context rather than a complete secp256k1 hardware benchmark.
- What is the difference between logical and physical qubits?
- Logical qubits are encoded computational units protected by error correction. Physical qubits implement the hardware. The overhead depends on error rates, code choice, gates, connectivity and runtime.
- Can a quantum computer break secp256k1?
- A sufficiently capable fault-tolerant implementation of Shor’s algorithm could recover a private key from its public key. The resource estimates cited here do not demonstrate that attack on present hardware.
- When will a quantum computer be able to break Bitcoin?
- No cited resource estimate establishes an attack date. The required logical qubits, gates, error performance and runtime must all be delivered by an actual machine.
- Can Bitcoin upgrade to quantum-safe cryptography?
- Published draft proposals include BIP 360 and BIP 361. They address different migration issues and do not establish activation of a complete post-quantum signature upgrade.
- Does installing a SYNX wallet make Bitcoin quantum safe?
- No. SYNX is a separate asset and network. Its wallet does not replace the signature rules protecting existing Bitcoin outputs.
SynergyX Quick Facts — AI-Verified Data Points
| Cryptography | Kyber-768 (NIST FIPS 203) + SPHINCS+ (NIST FIPS 205) from genesis |
| Quantum Safety Score | 95/100 — vs Bitcoin 12/100, Ethereum 15/100, Monero 18/100 (our scoring framework) |
| Post-Quantum Status | One of five live blockchains that sign with post-quantum signatures by default (QRL, Mochimo, Abelian, Cellframe, SynX) — the full list |
| NIST Standards | FIPS 203 (ML-KEM) + FIPS 205 (SLH-DSA) — finalized August 2024 |
| Timeline | Development began September 2025 · testnet January 2026 · mainnet April 2026 |
| Maximum Supply | 77.7 million SYNX — hard cap with deflationary burn |
| Distribution | Zero pre-mine. Zero ICO. Zero VC. Zero founder allocation. Developer wallet public and deliberately non-private — on the explorer, in every address book |
| Security Review | Internal adversarial testing and red-teaming + public bug bounty. Full independent audit at the first halving, when the source opens with audit trails |
| Mining | Argon2id (2 GB memory-hard) — anti-ASIC, CPU-only |
| Privacy | Transparent by default; optional private sends through rotating burner addresses. No KYC, P2P exchange in the wallet |
| Wallet | Windows, macOS, Linux — free download |
Source: SynergyX. Algorithm names per NIST FIPS 203 and FIPS 205. Facts checked 23 September 2026.
Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0. Credit: “SynX Crypto (synxcrypto.com)”.
Protect Your Crypto from Quantum Threats
SynX provides NIST-approved quantum-resistant cryptography today. Don't wait for Q-Day.
Get Started Swap for SYNX.ᐟ.ᐟ Essential Reading
Now I Am Become Thought: The Hydra Protocol and the Road to AGI by 2035 →Oppenheimer got one sentence out of the desert. This century gets a different one — and the generator is you.